Who Are We?

Meet the Staff

Dstewart-250r. Katharine E. Stewart, PhD, MPH
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
206 Holladay Hall
Campus Box 7526

Katharine E. Stewart serves as Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs at NC State, after joining the university on June 1, 2015 from UNC General Administration, where she served as vice president for academic planning and quality.

Stewart is a native North Carolinian who attended the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics and UNC–Chapel Hill, where she earned an undergraduate degree in psychology. She earned a Ph.D. and a master’s in medical clinical psychology as well as a Master of Public Health at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Her academic career has included appointments in departments of psychology, medicine and health behavior. She earned tenure in the College of Public Health at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, where she served as associate dean for academic affairs for 10 years.

Stewart’s research has focused on improving health outcomes for people living with HIV, especially women, and on reducing HIV and other sexually transmitted infections in at-risk communities. Her research has been funded by the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases, the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development, the Health Resources and Services Administration, and the National Institute on Drug Abuse.


Dr. Diane ChapmanDr. Diane Chapman
413 Clark Hall
Campus Box 7227

Dr. Chapman serves as the Director of the Office of Faculty Development in addition to her role as a Teaching Associate Professor in the Department of Leadership, Policy, and Adult and Higher Education.  Her research interests include program evaluation in workforce development, virtual human resource development, and instructional technology in teaching and learning. She is a previous recipient of the Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology, the Outstanding Teacher Award, the Alumni Association Outstanding Extension and Outreach award, and has been inducted in the Academy of Outstanding Teachers and the Academy of Outstanding Faculty Engaged in Extension. She has previously worked at UNC Chapel Hill and in training positions in the private sector.


Dr. Erin RobinsonDr. Erin Robinson
Assistant Director
411 Clark Hall
Campus Box 7227

Dr. Robinson greatly enjoys her work with the Office of Faculty Development, including working with the Certificate of Reflective Teaching program. Previously she worked in academic advising and continued to teach. Her research interests include inclusive classroom spaces for non-traditional students, which lead to her interest in Universal Design for Learning. She is also interested in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning specifically the development of learning outcomes for first year introduction to college courses and internships for graduate students.


dougjamesDr. Doug James
Assistant Director
412 Clark Hall
Campus Box 7227

Dr. James helps to lead OFD programs and events, uses research on university teaching to enhance faculty development, and develops resources for NC State faculty focused on teaching and learning. He previously served as the Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs in The Graduate School at Duke University where he taught courses on college teaching and course design, directed the Preparing Future Faculty program, and coordinated research ethics training for 12 years. His research interests include how teacher beliefs inform classroom teaching practices, best practices in undergraduate and graduate education, critical thinking and ethical decision-making, and educational approaches to promote academic integrity and research ethics. He earned the Ph.D. from Northwestern University where he worked at the Searle Center for Advancing Learning & Teaching.


Jonathan Holloway

Jonathan Holloway
Program Coordinator
407 Clark Hall
Campus Box 7227

As Program Coordinator, Jonathan is responsible for managing the Thank a Teacher program as well as providing developmental, logistical and programmatic support for other Office of Faculty Development programming. In addition, he maintains the OFD website and listservs. Previously, he served as a Library Associate at the NCSU Libraries. He holds B.A. and M.A. degrees in English from NC State.


Judy AustinJudy Austin
Faculty Awards Coordinator and Project Manager
415 Clark Hall
Campus Box 7227

As Faculty Awards Coordinator and Project Manager, Judy provides technical, logistical and design support for programming and events for the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and the Office of Faculty Development. She manages the processes of system-wide awards, university teaching and other faculty awards, annual New Faculty Orientation and leadership development programs for administrators and faculty in the Office of the Provost.

No stranger to NC State, Judy’s experiences range from graduate of undergraduate and master’s programs to staff positions in the former Division of Undergraduate Programs as Program Coordinator for the First Year Inquiry Program where she was the recipient of the First Year College Outstanding Service Award and Undergraduate Programs Coordinator where she received an Outstanding Service Award from the UCCC.


Dr. Audrey Jeager
Faculty Scholar, Office of Faculty Development
Associate Professor, Leadership, Policy, and Adult and Higher Education

Dr. Jaeger is Co-Executive Director of the National Initiative for Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness. Dr. Jaeger’s research examines the roles of current and future faculty with emphasis on part-time faculty. She is a member of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers and Academy of Outstanding Faculty Engaged in Extension And Engagement. Her scholarship on faculty has also examined institutional variables that support and inhibit faculty involvement in community engaged teaching and research.