Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching

Nomination Deadline: TBD for Academic Year 2015-16

This award, coordinated by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Faculty Development, is the most prestigious award given to faculty for teaching excellence. The Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching was established in 1993 to underscore the importance of teaching and to encourage, identify, recognize, reward, and support good teaching within the university.

One nominee per college will be accepted.

Nominee Pool
Nominees for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching will remain in the pool of nominees for consideration for a total of three years. If they are not successful in the first year they are nominated, they will be considered in the next 2 years. Candidates in the pool are welcome to update their submissions, although it is not required.

If the faculty member or college does not want the nomination to remain in the pool for three years, the nomination can be withdrawn after year 1 or 2 and the college can nominate a new candidate.

After three years, if the nominee is still in the pool, the college can either renominate the candidate or nominate a new candidate.

Recognition and Award
Each college nominee receives a cash award of $650.00. The university recipient is awarded a cash prize of $12,500.00. The university recipient and college nominees are recognized at a campus awards ceremony in the spring.  The university recipient is recognized at the Board of Governors Luncheon and publicized in news media.

College nominations will be submitted by email to the university awards coordinator, Judy Austin at: by TBD.

NOTE: Each college will have their own deadline for submissions to their college committee to allow review time and submission to the University Level.  Contact your college’s Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for their submission schedule.

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching University Recipients