Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence

Nomination Deadline: TBD for Academic Year 2015-2016

The Board of Trustees of North Carolina State University, at its meeting on April 24, 1992, established a new award for faculty. This award is known as the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, in recognition of the contributions to the university of Alexander Q. Holladay, who served as its first Professor of History and its first President.

The purpose of this award is to recognize members of the faculty who over their careers have made outstanding contributions to the University through their achievements in research, teaching, or extension and engagement. This award is intended to be the highest award made by the University in recognition of faculty achievement and a reward in recognition of the achievements and contributions of a faculty career at North Carolina State University. The award consists of a medal and a framed certificate presented at Spring Commencement. In addition, a permanent plaque is inscribed with the recipients’ names and displayed in the Faculty Senate Room. The award recipients are decided upon by the Board of Trustees, who will be presented with nominations by the University Affairs Committee of the Board in consultation with a university selection committee and the Provost. The Trustees may decide to bestow up to five (5) awards, or to make no award, in any given year.

While nominations can be made throughout the year, deadline for submissions to the pool for 2015-2016 new nominations is TBD.

Holladay Medal Recipients

Holladay Medal Policy Link